Business Loans and
Economic Development Finance
10% APR up to $500,000

Thursday, July 18, 2024

Long Island Development Corporation

Corporate Office:
175 Engineers Road
Suite 200
Hauppauge, New York 11788

Tel: 1-516-433-5000
Fax: 1-516-433-5046
Up Coming Events...
Technical Assistance for Certification

Why get certified:

Federal, state ,local government and many private corporations give a minimum amount of business (through set asides, preferences, goals) to certain types of  businesses. Being in a certain category gives your business an advantage when bidding on many government and private sector contracts-either directly or through prime contractors for subcontracting opportunities.


Types of certifications


Certifications which can help you get government contracts (as prime contractor) or help you subcontract with prime contractors:

Federal (general info)

Small business
Small disadvantaged business: (go to small disadvantaged business)
Veteran owned business:
Service disabled veteran owned business go to sdvob
8A certification (go to 8A)
HUD Section 3 certification
HUB Zone Certification   (go to hubzone)


Woman owned:
Minority owned:
Service disabled veteran owned:

Nassau County

Minority owned
Woman owned

Also, see other government entities, agencies such as



Private companies such as Fortune 1000, Fortune 500 companies look to do business with certain types of companies-minority/woman/veteran owned for example. Some of these private sector corporations do in house certifications. Many work with intermediaries who do the certifications:


National Minority Supplier Development Council (certifies minority owned companies):

NYNJ Minority Supplier Development Council (certifies minority owned companies):

NWBOC: (certifies women owned businesses for private corporations & certifies veteran owned businesses for  US Government):

WBENC (certifies women owned businesses):

(C) Copyright 2009 - All Rights Reserved
Hosting & Maintenance Provided by Connetrix
Site Map | Privacy